1st Team - Match centre

Denbigh Town
Holywell Town
Thu 24 Apr 19:30 - Lock Stock Welsh Alliance Football League - Division 1 Full time Attendance 500

Denbigh Town 4 - 1 Holywell Town

Town travelled to Denbigh Town in confident mood after the previous results of late, and knew that a victory over Denbigh Town would still give us a chance of winning the league if Denbigh Town slipped up in their remaining few games.


The game was barely 5 minutes old when Kristian Pierce fired wide of Danny Stanton’s goal after a good cross in by Mark Roberts, then Andrew Swarbrick fired over in Denbigh’s next real attack on the Holywell goal. Town’s first chance fell to Paul Williams who was picked out perfectly by Tom McElmeel’s ball, and after beating the challenge of a Denbigh Town defender, his attempted chip over Mike Jones was a little low and the keeper gathered the ball well. Sam Jones then burst through and his initial shot was saved by Jones, and the follow up shot was forced out for a corner.

Holywell Town then took the lead on 18 minutes with an emphatic finish by Paul Williams. Another great throughball by McElmeel saw Williams charge in on goal before unleashing a great half volley which beat Jones to give Town the advantage. Unfortunately for the Wellmen, Denbigh Town equalised a few minutes later when Swarbrick fired home via a slight deflection through a crowded area to put Denbigh back in it. The goal lifted the hosts and a few minutes later, Town were lucky not to fall behind as a cross into the box found the head of Stuart Vernon but his header hit the underside of the bar and bounced out before being cleared to safety by McElmeel.

Denbigh Town took the lead on 35 minutes. Mark Roberts saw his shot saved well by Stanton, but the ball fell to Warren Duckett who made no mistake to fire the host into the lead. They had further chances before the half time whistle with Swarbrick, Duckett and Vernon all going close again but were unable to increase their lead.

After the break, Town attempted to get back into the game and Sam Jones was desperately unlucky after his shot was blocked by Jones in between the sticks for Denbigh and the follow up shot by John Leonard flew over the bar.. Town had a let off with 5 minutes gone as the ball hit Stanton and came back out following a Swarbrick shot and Mark Roberts put the ball wide of the post with the goal at his mercy.

Town then broke down the right, with Paul Williams beating the challenge of Michael Taylor, and his cross from the byline was met by Leonard but his header fell inches wide of the post. Denbigh’s Pierce then had a shot go wide before a Sam Jones free kick from the left was cleared by the Denbigh Defence, then a few minutes later, a free kick from almost the same spot saw Jones gather the cross well before any Holywell players could attack the ball. Steve Thomas was then getting into the game and causing problems for the Denbigh rear guard and his inch perfect ball through the defence saw Sam Jones get to the ball, but his low cross was gathered by Jones with Paul Williams closing in.

Denbigh Town then increased their lead on 71 minutes. A free kick into the box was touched home by Duckett to score his second goal of the evening. A few minutes later, it was game over for Town as Denbigh scored their 4th as Stuart Vernon’s effort from around 20 yards flew across goal and nestled into the bottom corner. Town’s task was made even harder as Tony Roebuck received his second yellow card of the night and was sent off but Town didn’t give up and Sam Jones saw his turn and shot saved by Jones, before Substitute Graham Boylan saw his goalward header from a Sam Jones free kick gathered by Jones. The referee blew for full time and the win meant Denbigh Town were crowned Champions of the Welsh Alliance League for 2013/14.


Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other Division 1 results


League table

# Team Pd Pts
1. Denbigh Town 28 78
2. Holywell Town 28 65
3. Llanrug Utd 28 59
4. Barmouth & Dyffryn Utd 28 46
5. Glantraeth 28 43
6. Llanberis 28 39
7. Bodedern Ath 28 37
8. Gwalchmai 28 35

Team sponsors


Club sponsors